Auto Gain Control in Linux?

This is my first time setting up a Digirig on a Raspberry Pi. It’s working adequately, but it is behaving the same way as I have seen in Windows with Auto Gain Control left on. I am unable to find a similar AGC setting to disable in Linux.

Can anyone tell me how to access the sound settings that affect the Digirig within Linux, and if there is a similar type of AGC setting I can disable?

Further description of the issue:
I am using fldigi on a Pi 2, connected to a simple icom 1721 vhf radio. On my windows systems, I would simply use the volume knob on the radio (with squelch at zero) to adjust the green bar at the bottom of the fldigi window to about -20db, until the diamond shaped indicator becomes green. If AGC is left on in the Windows Control Panel sound settings, the green bar bounces between too high and too low with the slightest adjustment, and tuning is impossible.

This Pi is behaving the same way when AGC is left on in windows, and tuning is impossible. I’ve tried right clicking the mic and speaker buttons, and raspi-config, but I could not find an AGC. If I am unable to find an AGC, should I just leave the volume hot and potentially overdrive the digirig?

Thanks.

Okay I think I may be on the right track. From the CLI I typed alsamixer, then hit F6 and selected the digirig (USB PnP Sound Device). There is a setting that says Auto Gain Control. From there, I had to double click on the Auto Gain Control (keyboard didn’t seem to affect it) in order to turn it off.

Unfortunately it still behaves as though ACG is on, even after a reboot.

SOLVED! While in alsamixer, after using F6 to select the USB PnP Sound Device and turning off the auto gain control, hit F5 to display all of the audio levels. Then tune all audio levels to zero db.

Thank you everyone for struggling through this with me today.

2 Likes