Digirig, APRS, Baofeng - Help Needed

Can anyone tell me if my setup is working correctly?

Let me begin by saying I’m very new to digital modes. In fact, this is my first attempt. I figured I would start by trying APRS.

I’ve got a Baofent UV-5R plugged into Digirig (with official cables) hooked up to my linux (ubuntu) box running direwolf. Direwolf can trigger the PTT and I can trigger the radio using wsjtx too.

At the configured time interval in Direwolf, there’s a very short keying of the mic and a short transmission. Honestly, it seems like it’s just keying the mic and then releasing it without transmitting but since I don’t know anything about digital modes I don’t really know. Here’s a brief video of what’s going on:

Thanks,
John

@kc1gze

I agree APRS is a good first digital mode with the Baofeng HT.

This isn’t an answer to your question, but may help your troubleshooting.

A troubleshooting guide is here: Troubleshooting Digital Modes – digirig

The APRS handshake signals are short duration. If your outgoing signal reaches an APRS digipeater, the digipeated signal is likely to be received and heard by your transceiver. I do not hear a digipeated signal corresponding to your outgoing signal. Either a signal did not go out, or you are not in range of an APRS digipeater.

The radio you are holding is a monitor radio, right? Because I do not see any cable connected to a Digirig.

Is the transceiver antenna separated from the HT? That can cut down RFI if that is a problem.

Do you hear traffic on 144.390? That is a good first step.

Let us know how it goes.

73 Constrainted

Thanks Constrained. Yes, the radio in the video is a 2nd Baofeng that I have just to monitor the frequency.

I did follow the troubleshooting tips on the page you linked. I’m in the NE corner or RI and according to the maps on APRS.fi I should have plenty of APRS coverage.