Digirig, WInlink Express on Windows 10, Yeasu 857D VHF setup troubles

I just got a Digilink for Christmas. I also got the Digilink cables for my Yeasu 857D.
I downloaded Winlink Express onto my Widows 10 computer. I see the devices in device manager and CHIRP can comm with my 857 over the digilink cables.
I have never done digital modes before, so I am a total noob to this. I am trying to configure Winlink and have no idea how to configure it.
Does anyone have step by step instructions for this? I have spent hours trying to figure it out.

There isn’t much specifics related to Digirig so you can just start watching/reading general information on the modes of your interest.

If you are new to digital modes I would recommend starting with something a bit simpler like FT8.
To use Winlink with Digirig, you’ll also need install and configure software TNC software. VaraHF is a popular choice.

Appreciate the attempt, but that doesn’t really help me much.
I am totally new to digital modes and trying to understand what all is needed.
Using on 2 meter only at the time.
I have fldigi working mostly.
I downloaded VARAHF and installed it, but have no idea how to set it up to work over the digirig or how to configure it within Winlink.
So what I really need is how to setup Winlink to use over a Digirig…

Glad to hear you made progress with fldigi.
If you plan to use it on 2m/FM what you need is VaraFM configured with Winlink. VaraHF is for HF/SSB.

Here’s the video of the setup with a typical FM HT:

Additional information can be found in Vara Modem Group.

Search for this post.
Config Instructions for Yaesu FT-857 and Winlink . I created a set of instructions and hope they will help you. GL.

Rick, K7RCR