Yet another Anytone D878UVII Plus Issue

Good morning. I’m somewhat new to the radio world, trying to get it all in one sock, as it were, so please bear with me.

Issue: D878UVII Plus does not appear to connect to laptop using Digirig Baofeng cables kit for Digirig Mobile cable set. No com port is assigned by laptop.

What I’ve done so far:

• D878UVII Plus with firmware 3.0
  • Surface 8 Pro laptop, Windows 11
  • Digirig Logic Levels
  • Baofeng cables kit for Digirig Mobile (using black cable into Audio socket)
  • The Silicone Labs virtual com port driver was installed before I connected the Digirig, and the Digirig is now installed and appears as com port 8 and appears in the sound control panel as USB PnP Sound Device.
  • 878 is fully functional.
  • I use Powerwerx speaker/mic regularly with no issues.
  • I can use the OEM programming cable plugged into the Surface 8 and the 878 immediately gets a com port and functions properly, i.e., I can read from and program the 878 with no problems.
  • Using the black Baofeng cable, the Surface 8 does not detect the 878.
  • I read a topic where one user had issues with the 878 mic socket, so I did a bit of twisting, pushing, cussing, etc, with no change.
  • I also have the Anytone AT-D578 Cable for Digirig Mobile which I have used to successfully set up the D578 mobile radio to use Winlink and Vara FM. I can plug the 578 cable into the Digirig and everything works as expected, no issues.
  • I have a friend who has the same Baofeng cable set that I have, he was able to use his cable to successfully set up his 878 HT. I borrowed his cable and I get the same results as with my cable - no connection.
  • I have not yet compared his 878 hardware version/firmware version to mine but will do later this week when he’s available to do so.