Windows 10 not finding COM port

Prefacing this by saying I’m NOT very good with computers, so “explain it to me like I’m five years old” please.

My Windows 10 computer does not detect the Digirig when I plug it in. I’m using a data USB cable which says it has “480 MBPS transfer speed” so it seems to be a “data cable.”

In “Device Manager”, under “Ports (COM & LPT)”, there is only “HP Communications Port (COM4)”.

On the page Troubleshooting Digital Modes – digirig it says that I should be seeing “Silicon Labs CP210x USB to UART Bridge (COMx)”.

As recommended on that page, I went to downloaded a new driver from CP210x USB to UART Bridge VCP Drivers - Silicon Labs There are several, so I chose the one called “CP210x Universal Windows Driver”. A zip file downloaded, and I unzipped it, and as recommended in the Release Notes for that software, I right-clicked the “silabser setup information” file and clicked “install”.

Things happened:

“Do you want to open this file?”, “Open”.

“Do you want to allow this app to make changes to your device?”, “yes”.

“The operation completed successfully.”

But no dice–still no “Silicon Labs CP210x USB to UART Bridge (COMx)”.

So, now what? I’m stumped

1 Like

Now that you have the driver installed, try unplugging the digirig from your computer, then plug it back in again. When you connect the digirig to the computer, it should show a new device is being connected (popup window in the lower right corner of the screen), and then tell you when it is ready. At that time, check again in the device manager to see if the CP210x driver installed. If it did, you are probably good to go, but before you leave device manager, make a note of the COM port that it assigned to the digirig - you will need that number to set up your software.

If unplugging and re-plugging the digirig still does not show that driver, there may be a problem with the USB cable that you are using.

3 Likes